Reviews

RECENT REVIEWS AND RECOMMENDATIONS

We have accumulated hundreds of reviews and recommendations over the years - far too many to list - but here are some recent ones.   

Its also worth noting that much more than half our bookings come from revisits and recommendations:  many people come back every year and we have seen kids who came here with their parents years ago now booking with their own young families - that's really lovely.

 

Marianne    March 2019      Bens

Such a lovely, charming place in a very rural, pretty location surrounded by local walks. Great for kids with a big garden and lots of kids stuff (trampoline, ride on toys, goal posts) and some toys & books in the house. Perfect size for 2 adults & 2 kids + dog. Short walk to a very nice pub. So well equipped. There was nothing we wanted for or were missing. So nice not to have to bring bedding or towels and loved that it was genuinely dog friendly (no hidden pricey dog levy). We will definitely be back! What a charming place- love your taste. Loved the fresh flowers, such a sweet touch. Loved the kids stuff and the info on local walks. So well equipped. We didn't realise you had a freezer though- discovered it on the last day having defrosted our food! We'd figured you can't have everything! Thank you for helping us with the later check out. It was raining so it was a big help to hang round until we needed to leave under cover. We will definitely be back!

 

Gillian     February 2019      Bens

A lovely place with all the facilities you need for a comfortable and enjoyable stay in the Cornish countryside. I would definitely recommend Bens. We loved our stay at Bens. Great facilities and beautiful location. Thank you.

 

Stephen     February 2019     The Barn

A beautiful space and location. Great hosts.

 

Kat      February 2019      Flower House

This was a cosy, lovely space to stay in. The location was amazing, and the walk down to the beautiful estuary is a must. Also great play equipment for children to use outside, and a wonderful pub 10 minutes walk away, (a steep walk). A beautiful part of the World!

 

Sidarth       Xmas 2018      Bens

This is a great little spot in the countryside. A perfect take off point for most places in the south, north and east of Cornwall. The farm is beautiful with peaceful and beautiful farmland. Perfect for a family getaway with kids.

 

Samantha     July 2018     Flower House

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at The Flower House ? it's very comfortable and clean and very well equipped. The jug of beautiful flowers on the table when we arrived was a lovely welcome, as was the tea and milk. The weather was incredible and we had a lovely weekend exploring the area - there is so much to see and do, so we'll have to come again one day! We really enjoyed our stay at The Flower House. It was very comfortable, clean and well-equipped. The beautiful flowers, tea, coffee and milk were a lovely touch. I hope to return one day with my husband and children (hopefully to the Farmhouse or The Barn) and show them how lovely it is. Thank you.

 

Anthony       June 2018     The Barn

We had a lovely stay at Goongillings Barn. Perfect location for all we wanted to do. And the garden is magnificent; so lovely to dine outside surrounded by the trees & birds. Will definitely stay again as/when we next visit the area.

 

Katie     May 2018       Flower House

Me and my partner absolutely loved staying here. A beautiful cottage set around a courtyard on an idyllic country lane. Coming from London we loved the peacefulness and the nature surrounding the cottage. The walk from the cottage across the meadow, down through the woods to the quay was lovely. Upon arriving Barbara had left some beautiful wild flowers in the cottage which was very thoughtful. The kitchen was well equipped with pots, pans, and even a hand blender which was great for my smoothies. Shower was great, bed was comfy, and the wood burning stove was a real treat on the one chilly evening we had. We were fortunate enough to have Mediterranean weather on our holiday and were able to have breakfast outside in the small garden in front of the cottage. We would definitely go back. Thank you for the lovely flowers and biscuits, they made the space welcoming and homely. We loved the cottage and look forward to returning, perhaps in the summer. Many thanks.

 

Bula      May 2018     The Farmhouse

It is a charming house with a beautiful English soul, A true moment of happiness. Your house is wonderful, it has a soul, it has delighted us all. The scenery made us relive our childhood. And all the pieces have delighted us. It was an exceptional weekend. Thank you.

 

Clare     May 2018        Flower House

A wonderful cottage in a spectacular location. Perfectly placed for getting to loads of places within 10/15 minute drive. The land that the farm is on, especially the stretch down to the river which is full of trees and wildflowers, is stunning. We loved our stay and will be back, thank you.

 

Tarah      April 2018      The Barn

This is a fantastic place for a young family. We went down to Constantine for a wedding with our three children who are 7, 5 and 3 years old, and it was absolutely perfect for them. The outside space far exceeded our expectations. The garden is lovely with a table tennis table, a couple of swings and a climbing frame, and a little boat house for small children to play in, it was quite magical. Inside was spacious, comfortable and accommodating, we had everything we needed for cooking and cleaning. There were fresh flowers in vases when we arrived which was lovely and some milk and tea. My children, all still being quite young wanted to sleep together in one room, but there are three bedrooms in total, a double with ensuite, and two twin rooms (one twin and the double bedroom are together on one side of the living space, then the other twin room is on the other side next to the family bathroom). There is also a mezzanine which my daughters absolutely loved playing in, it was a real adventure for them. In fact, the house and gardens and surrounding area were a real adventure for all of us! I highly recommend a visit. (as a side note, the cottage is just a few minutes walk from the famous trengilly wartha pub, which is worth a visit).

 

Linsey      February 2018      Flower House

The Flower Barn is in a lovely rural setting and provides a very comfortable and peaceful place to stay. It is not far to drive to Falmouth and in the other direction is the wonderful scenery of the Lizard. There is a wonderful pub just down the lane and a convienence store not far away. Barbara is a welcoming host who communicated promptly whilst booking and provided very clear instructions of how to find the property.

 

Read     Xmas 2017      The Farmhouse

I would not hesitate to stay here again. The Farmhouse is lovely. It more than comfortably slept our group of 7. It has great heating and lots of space. There are 4 bedrooms. 3 toilets. 2 showers and a bath. The living space is incredibly versatile, and you are able to close off, or open up the reception rooms. There is a large dining room, with table and chairs for 8. The kitchen is large and well provisioned for your cooking needs - plenty of pots, pans and baking/roasting trays; large fridge; We cooked Christmas lunch and were not disappointed with the facilities. There is a separate freezer, washer and dryer in the utility room. And outside the house is lots of space for parking cars. The farmhouse is a few minutes walk from a great local pub (great food, beer and friendly locals). Barbara provided excellent communication, and Charlie popped his head in to welcome us, and ensure that we were not wanting for anything. The home made Christmas mince pies on arrival were a lovely touch, as were the Christmas tree and decorations around the house.

 

Fiona      July 2017        The Farmhouse

This is the most beautiful, organic farm with a private quay on a beautiful creek. The house is quite old, but has everything you need with a lovely big garden, some of which is shared. The walk down to the quay is just dreamy and there is a great pub within walking distance. You can swim in the creek at high tide and there are some boats available if you want to play in the water. This was the most lovely place to stay.

 

Zoe       April 2017     The Barn

Barbara's place is wonderful. The house is cozy, well equipped and provides a wonderful escape! There was a lot of space inside the house and the house is set in lovely countryside and close by a lot of beautiful beaches. Barbara is very informative and communicative and relaxed! Thank you for a lovely stay